William Winsborough Commemorative Address

As many of you are aware, in 2012 we instigated a new initiative, the William Winsborough Commemorative Award, to both commemorate Will and to honour and recognize leader in the field of Trust and Trust Management. We have since made the award to Audun Jøsang (2012), Fabio Martinelli (2013), Christian Damsgaard Jensen (2014), Ehud Gudes (2015), Simone Fischer-Hübner (2016) and Siani Pearson (2017).

To recap, the model of the award is based on TC11's Kristian Beckman award. The recipient would present an invited keynote at the IFIPTM conference, and be awarded a small memento.

Per the Beckman award, and tailored to our working group: "The objective of the award is to publicly recognise an individual, not a group or organisation, who has significantly contributed to the development of computational trust and/or trust management, especially achievements with an international perspective. However this particular requirement will not necessarily preclude nominations of those whose main achievements have been made on a national level.".

The timeline for 2018 has now started and is as follows: this message is soliciting from you, the WG members, suggestions of names for the 2018 award based on the above objective and requirements. A short (one or two paragraphs is sufficient) exposition of why you are recommending the person would be greatly appreciated in helping the committee do its work. Feel free to suggest more than one name. In the event no-one is proposed, the committee will come forward with its own recommendations, so to make yourself heard and to help make the group active, please submit names! Our only restriction is that members of the working group executive are NOT eligible for the award, most particularly Chair (Stephen Marsh) and Secretary (Anirban Basu).

The deadline for submissions of names is March 2nd, 2018. Submissions can be sent to the Secretary of the Working Group, Anirban Basu, at wwca@ifiptm.org (website: http://www.ifiptm.org/winsborough-commemorative)

The committee will deliberate and make a choice of the recipient by April 2nd, 2018. The recipient will give a keynote at IFIPTM 2018 (http://s.ifiptm.org/conf2018) and be invited to write a position paper for the proceedings.

The committee will be formed along the same lines as the 2017 committee. Chaired by the Working Group Chair, Dr Stephen Marsh (University of Ontario Institute of Technology), the other members are the General Chair(s) of the Conference for the year (or their representative), who for 2018 are Stephen Marsh (University of Ontario Institute of Technology) and Jeremy Pitt (Imperial College). Traditionally, the previous recipient is also on the committee, which brings Siani Pearson on board. 2018’s young researcher (those who are quickly and successfully establishing themselves in the field) is Christian Richthammer from the University of Regensburg. Ex officio is Anirban Basu, the WG Secretary (who does not vote). Our thanks to all members for giving of their time.

Stephen Marsh, IFIP WG 11.11 Chair

Anirban Basu, IFIP WG 11.11 Secretary