Election 2012

Dear IFIP Working Group 11.11 Member

Every three years, per IFIP regulations, we must hold elections for the senior executive of the Working Group. 2012 is an election year for the Working Group.

The last three years have seen the IFIPTM Working Group to expand towards an international conference with a truly global reach: IFIPTM 2009 took place in USA, IFIPTM 2010 took place in Japan, IFIPTM 2011 took place in Denmark and IFIPTM 2012 takes place in India. An industry symposium and a postgraduate school were established in 2011 and 2012 and an international journal on trust management is in negotiation.

Active participation of the community in all the activities of the working group and the election of committed and active members in the appropriate positions, ensure that the successes of the past will continue and further in the future.

The regulations state that there are to be elections for Chair, Vice-Chair(s) and Secretary. Also, Chairs and Vice-Chairs can serve for two consecutive three-year periods only, whereas the Secretary can serve for indefinite periods.

The current Chair (Dr Theo Dimitrakos), and the two Vice-Chairs Prof. Audun Jøsang and Prof. Yuko Murayama) are entitled to stand for re-election, as is the Secretary (Dr Steve Marsh), and they have already declared their intention to exercise this entitlement.

The purpose of this announcement is to inform you of the elections and the process we will undertake for the elections.

The first stage is the nomination stage. Any member in good standing is entitled to nominate themselves or others with their consent for one of the four positions. To do so, an email with the nomination is necessary to the

Secretary and the current Chair (addresses below) ON or BEFORE MAY 7th, 2012, 23:59 GMT.

Please note, if there is only one nomination, we have elected to select the candidate by acclamation for this position

Should there be a need for an election following the nomination process, there will be a web-based election prior to the conference which takes place in Surat, India, May 21-25, 2012. Instructions will be sent out to all members in good standing on May 1st, the election will continue until May 21st.

The results of the election will be announced at the conference, and any necessary handover of responsibilities will take place at the closing ceremony of the conference.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at the addresses below.

Best wishes

Theo Dimitrakos (Chair)


Stephen Marsh (Secretary)