William Winsborough Commemorative Address

As many of you are aware, in 2012 we instigated a new initiative, the William Winsborough Commemorative Award, to both commemorate Will and to honour and recognize leader in the field of Trust and Trust Management. We have since made the award to Audun Jøsang (2012), Fabio Martinelli (2013), Christian Damsgaard Jensen (2014), Ehud Gudes (2015) and Simone Fischer-Hübner (2016).

To recap, the model of the award is based on TC11's Kristian Beckman award. The recipient would present an invited keynote at the IFIPTM conference, and be awarded a small memento.

Per the Beckman award, and tailored to our working group: "The objective of the award is to publicly recognise an individual, not a group or organisation, who has significantly contributed to the development of computational trust and/or trust management, especially achievements with an international perspective. However this particular requirement will not necessarily preclude nominations of those whose main achievements have been made on a national level.".

The timeline for 2017 has now started and is as follows: this message is soliciting from you, the WG members, suggestions of names for the 2017 award based on the above objective and requirements. A short (one or two paragraphs is sufficient) exposition of why you are recommending the person would be greatly appreciated in helping the committee do its work. Feel free to suggest more than one name. In the event no-one is proposed, the committee will come forward with its own recommendations, so to make yourself heard and to help make the group active, please submit names! Our only restriction is that members of the working group executive are not eligible for the award, most particularly Chair (Stephen Marsh) and Secretary (Anirban Basu).

The deadline for submissions of names is January 7th, 2017. Submissions can be sent to the Secretary of the Working Group, Anirban Basu, at wwca@ifiptm.org

The committee will deliberate and make a choice of the recipient by February 7th, 2017. The recipient will give a keynote at IFIPTM 2017 (http://s.ifiptm.org/conf2017) and be invited to write a position paper for the proceedings.

The committee will be formed along the same lines as the 2016 committee. Chaired by the Working Group Chair, Dr Stephen Marsh (University of Ontario Institute of Technology), the other members are the General Chair(s) of the Conference for the year (or their representative), who for 2017 are Jan-Philipp Steghöfer (Chalmers | University of Gothenburg) and Babak Esfandiari (Carleton University). Traditionally, the previous recipient is also on the committee, which brings Simone Fischer-Hübner of Karlstad University, Sweden on board. 2017’s young researcher (those who are quickly and successfully establishing themselves in the field) is Jason Nurse (University of Oxford). Ex officio is Anirban Basu, the WG Secretary (who does not vote). Our thanks to all members for giving of their time.

Stephen Marsh, IFIP WG 11.11 Chair
Anirban Basu, IFIP WG 11.11 Secretary